10 Ways to Clear Your Heart Chakra

There are seven primary chakras, located along the center line of the upper body, from the bottom of the spine to the top of the head. Each chakra is associated with different glands, organs, body areas, and elements of our life, personality, and spiritual development.

The chakras are critical to our physical health, the quality of our life, and our ability to develop spiritually.

A healthy chakra is open, allowing energy to flow freely both horizontally, in an exchange of energy with the universe, and vertically, connecting it with the other chakras.

It’s very common to have one or more chakras that is blocked or out of balance to some degree. This can cause disruptions in a person’s body, mind, spirit, and life.

The Anahata chakra is located in the center of the chest at heart level. Its keywords are “unconditional love,” “healing,” and “connection.” It relates to compassion, healing, divine love, self-love and relationships. Its associated color is green, and its element is air.

Situated at the middle of the chakra system, the fourth chakra integrates the upper and lower chakras, unifying physical and spiritual energies, body and spirit. With the fourth chakra, we start to move beyond the focus on the separate self, toward a focus on relationship and connection. At the fourth chakra, we start to reach for the heavens. A clear, balanced 4th chakra is essential to ongoing spiritual growth.

Someone with a healthy fourth chakra is usually compassionate, able to love deeply, and has a sense of emotional fulfillment. In relationships, they are usually capable of deep intimacy while maintaining healthy personal boundaries. They are kind, forgiving, trusting, and nonjudgmental. They may radiate peace. Often they have a strong connection to nature. Whatever their profession, they act as a healing presence.

Here are ten ideas for heart chakra healing:

Get out in nature. Take a hike or meditate outdoors. Be deeply aware of the birds.

Spend time with small children or your animal companions. Get down on their level. Follow their lead.
Do your best to forgive someone. Just let it go.

Perform an anonymous “random act of kindness” every day for a week. Notice how it makes you feel.

Declare a “gratitude day.” Spend the whole day noticing everything that you have to be grateful for.

Reconnect with an old, dear friend. Let them know what they’ve meant to you.

Volunteer at a food bank or homeless shelter. Withhold judgment; try to learn something from and see the divine spark within everyone you seek to help.

Use the heart chakra essential oils of rose, geranium, neroli, melissa, sandalwood, ylang ylang or jasmine.

Wear or decorate a room in a shade of green or pink that feels pleasing and healing to you.

Repeat an affirmation such as: “I am loved.” “I forgive naturally and easily.” “It is my nature to love and be loved.” “I welcome the differences of others.”  “It is my nature to heal.” “Love is everywhere.” “I forgive myself.” “I am at peace.” “I have so much to be grateful for.”  “I am connected to everything in the universe.”

Remember, when working with your chakras, intention matters! Before doing any of the activities above, set your intention. For example, you might set and hold a general intention for heart chakra healing, or a more specific goal of forgiving someone, healing from an emotional wound, developing compassion, dissolving separation, etc.

Just make your purpose clear, perform the activity mindfully, and as you’re doing it, occasionally take a moment to silently affirm that your actions are creating your intention. Using any of the activities in conjunction with the affirmations is also very effective.

Nancy Hausaue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 3 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.